I am limiting this list before I even start it.  TEN places….well, TEN trips (some might include more than one destination….giving myself a little bit of wiggle room).

**None of this photos are mine…thanks Google for the great inspirational travel photos!

1. United Kingdom (specifically Scotland and Whales)

scottish-highlands

On my dad’s side of the family I am predominantly Scottish and Welsh and I have always been fascinated with those locations.  The Scottish highlands in particular have always drawn my heartstrings. I would really love to do more research genealogically and find out more about this side of the family, but that is really hard because I am the only one left and I don’t know much to begin with because most of my grandparents were already gone before I was born.  My paternal grandmother’s maiden name was Stewart so I am secretly hoping I am some form of Scottish royalty.

2. Norway

Nature photographer tourist with camera shoots Lofoten archipela

On a similar note, my mom’s side of the family is Norwegian. I am woefully uneducated when it comes to Norwegian history and culture.  Doesn’t anyone really know much about Norway?  I’ve never met anyone that I’m not related to that is also Norwegian.  Everyone is always Swedish or Danish! Anyways, I  would really love to have the opportunity to fully engulf myself in my ancestial homeland’s culture and get to appreciate where my family originated.  I’m half Svaleson (Swall- eh- son) for goodness sake!

3. New Orleans

new orleans

This trip is officially happening in 7 months! I am beyond excited to travel down to the bayou with some of my greatest friends in the entire world.  I love the culture and vibe of New Orleans.  When I visited Key West everyone told me it was an island version of New Orleans, and if that is the case, consider me tickled pink.  I LOVED every single moment I was able to spend in Key West and I cannot wait to explore all the dark and mysterious corners of this magical city.

4. Italy

venice

Italy is steeped with long history, good wine, and amazing food, three things I am extraordinarily passionate about. There are a million places within Italy that I am dying to see, but Venice is in the top three.  Venice has been drawing people to her for thousands of years, and I am no exception to this rule.  There is something totally charming and enchanting about a city made of water.

5. Greece

greece

The Mediterranean is about at beautiful as it gets.  This particular image pops up whenever you Google search Greece, and I would love to climb these stairs and explore the nooks and crannies of this little paradise. Again, the idea of being in a city almost as old as all recorded history set my soul on fire.  Feeling that connected to the past is a magical feeling I have yearned for.  In the US everything is young (unless we are taking native American tribal things, and even those aren’t authentically ancient due to the persecution and relocation of many tribes).  All of our cities and our civilization itself is nothing compared to the thousands of years of history that has soaked into the stones and foundations of Greece.

6. San Fran to Van Road trip

pacific coast highway

A dear friend of mine recently took this trip, and I could not be more jealous.  This road trip goes through some of the most beautiful landscapes in America/Canada and some pretty cool cities.  I am a road trip kind of gal.  Life is about the journey more than the final destination, and I am ready to fully explore the Pacific Coast Highway.

7. Route 66

route 66

I’ve never been to the Southwest.  I have family down that way, that I never visit (unfortunately), and I have never been to Oklahoma, Texas, Arizona, New Mexico, or Southern California.  This is the ultimate US road trip, this is the trip they write songs about.  My goal is to visit every US state by the time I am 35 (I’ve got 27 states so far and the three US trips on this list I would bump it up to 34).

8. India/Nepal

nepal

I am a far cry from a mountain climber, but there is something totally romantic and enthralling about being at the literal top of the world. I’m never climbing Everest, I will be the first to admit that, but I would LOVE to explore India/Nepal and the Himalayas.  Even just seeing the tallest mountain in the world kind of seems like an accomplishment.

9. France

francebeauty and the beast

 

I took five years of French over the course of my education, so I feel obligated to put that to good use.  I’m not super interested in Paris (however the Moulin Rouge is a must see if I ever make it to France), cities in general aren’t my cup of tea, but French countryside has always been a place I am drawn to.  I like quiet, peaceful, beauty–think Beauty and the Beast village, maybe throw in  a mountain castle and I would be set.

10. Cambodia/Vietnam/Laos/Thailand

I have been eyeballing tours of Southeast Asia for a while now, particularly those that involve some type of charitable work, and elephants.  I think it would be especially eyeopening to travel to a part of the world that has been so damaged by my own country and help in any way I can to make a difference in the lives of those affected by the choices of world leaders so far away.  Jungles aren’t really my thing.  I hate bugs, but I wholeheartedly believe this is the trip of a lifetime and would be willing to die of malaria to experience it.